Sunday Suppers: Modified Butterflied Chicken with Roasted Root Vegetables and Pan Gravy

I made dinner for mine and Art’s parents a few weeks back. I got this recipe for Butterflied Chicken with Roasted Root Vegetables and Pan Gravy from watching the Jamie Deen show one Saturday morning. The recipes says to use a cast iron skillet to sear the chicken, but with an induction cooktop I can’t use cast iron. I just seared the chicken in an induction-friendly pan and placed it in a separate pan for the oven. I also couldn’t make the gravy, but it was plenty oily. I’ve made this twice and both times I think I used too much oil. Reminds me of some overly oily brownies an old friend used to make back in high school. The dish was surprisingly moist. Art and I were both shocked when I made it. The plating points go to Arthur. Delicious chicken points go to me!

The below photo is a bit blurry because I was too close using my 50mm, but I really like the bokeh of the foil.

What are you eating for dinner?

Leave a Reply

