Relax (Don’t Do It)

A couple of weeks ago, in the spirit of spontaneity, 12 hours after meeting in arrivals at the airport, we decided to take a trip out to Put in Bay. Who knew that Ohio had some island action going on?

So there we are, on the ferry, and I’m patting myself on the back for remembering to charge the batteries and packing away my polarizer. I even brought some double As for the flash!  But of course, too good to be true,  I have my Bidisha moment. No memory card. Again. Can I get a u-g-h?

Carrying around a camera has changed the way I experience things. I kept kicking myself every time I saw an amazing photo opportunity: the mom and daughter standing on the kayak in the sun, the adorable dog retreiving a stick from the lake, the slew of golf carts running rampant on the island. But I realized I’m becoming that girl. You know, the one who is too busy snapping photos of a good time instead of actually having one?

So I decided to forget about the camera. Because sometimes you just need to jump off the pier with arms flailing into the lake  and focus on getting those memorable mental images.

Also, there’s the phone.

2 thoughts on “Relax (Don’t Do It)

  1. love this! glad you were able to relax a bit! i’ve realized sonu and i are becoming the same way — we really have to force ourselves to step back sometimes and simply enjoy the moments instead of snapping away like crazy people!

  2. Whenever I hear those lyrics I think of Oscar from The Office as the stripper in The Proposal.

Leave a Reply

